Posted in Spiritual

Sweet Summertime: A Season For Growth

As finals week quickly approaches and the semester draws to a close, the reality that summertime is near finally hits home.  Majority of my summers have consisted of multiple vacations, mission trips and church camps leaving me with only a few free weeks of downtime.  This summer will be different. Much different.  Most of my weeks this summer will be spent here in town.  And while yes, there is a part of me that screams for adventure, another part of me is thrilled for this new type of summer break. My main goal this summer:  GROW, GROW, GROW, and GROW some more.  And while yes having a few more inches on these short legs of mine would be nice, that’s not quite the type of growth I’m talking about.

Spiritual growth is my goal.  I don’t want to get to the end of the summer and say, “well that was a waste of 3 and a half months.”  (Which I admit, in the past have been my thoughts going into a new school year.) But instead, I want to look back and say, “WOW, God did all this in 3 and a half short months.”  I think as a college student, we are blessed with so many different opportunities with having a summer break.  And I think God uses each neat opportunity in different ways for different people.  While God calls some people over seas for the summer, and calls others to work at a camp all summer, he also calls people to STAY and serve where they are. (Which is an awesome thing too!!!)

I don’t know where God has called you to spend your time this summer, but wherever that place is, serve faithfully and make it a priority to spend alone time with Jesus.  I don’t know about y’all, but I love setting goals, and I mean BIG goals. Because I know that, He can do far beyond all that I could ask or imagine (Ephesians 3:20).  I think goals are important when trying to stay focused, or trying to accomplish anything for that matter.  So I challenge you to set goals for this summer, and then tell someone who can keep you accountable.

Here are a few of my (broad/general) goals:

  • Pray Pray Pray
  • Have a set time each day that I spend alone with Christ
  • Continue to memorize scripture
  • Listen Listen Listen
  • Find someone to mentor
  • Have gospel conversations

So wherever you go or stay, let him use you this summer!! God wants to do BIG things, lets let him!

With Love,

Mica!!!

Author:

Colossians 1:17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

Leave a Reply

