Posted in Spiritual

Blessed Be Your Name

As 2017 is already halfway over, I am pushed towards a time of written reflection! (Once again, shocker right?) The past 7 months has already contained lots of different emotions! Like… Relief from finishing my first year of college strong, happiness from godly, Christ centered friendships, joy from my perfect Savior, excitement from and in my church, and love from my family.  With this short list of some of the emotions 2017 has brought me, one may think, “Wow, her year is going perfectly!” However, while yes these emotions have been felt, I’ve also seen and experienced hurt, worry, frustration, and have been impatient during a time of waiting. As the world around me seems to fall from beneath my feet, as hurt and suffering seems to close in on me and those around me, I’m reminded of a song… I’ll come back to that in a few.

I’m currently on a mission trip with my college group from church, and this past Sunday we went to the missionaries church. One of my favorite parts of mission trips are going to the different church services. It’s so encouraging to me to see what God is doing across the country and across the globe. It always seems to be the worship portion that the Lord speaks to me the most! And yet again the Lord spoke, which I will also get to in a few. (lol sorry for the choppy writing!)

Like I said, this year so far has had it’s mountains and it’s fair share of valleys, but God is STILL God. Through it ALL. As I stood that morning at Wind City Church, (a church that meets at the local mall in town, super cool right?) I sang with my hands open wide to the Lord.  The words of “Blessed Be Your Name” by Matt Redman rolled off my lips as it hit me in my deepest parts.

“Blessed be your name,

In the land that is plentiful,

Where your streams of abundance flow,

Blessed be your name”

 

“Blessed be your name

When the suns shining down on me,

When the world is all as it should be

Blessed be your name”

I have NO trouble saying “blessed me your name Jesus” at these times in my life when he pours out his blessings.

However, it’s in those times when the darkness closes in, that is much harder for me!  I ask myself, “can I and will I still say, “Blessed be your name?

“Blessed be your name

When I’m found in the desert place

Though I walk through the wilderness

Blessed be your name”

 

“Blessed be your name

On the road marked with suffering

Though there is pain in the offering

Blessed be your name”

I WANT to say that, but WILL I in these times?  All of these things were running through my mind as I lifted my voice to Him.

I thought, “If I would have lost my grandfather 2 months ago to his severe heart attack that should have killed him, would I be saying, blessed be your name right now?”  Would I be praising my father in heaven even when death turned my world upside down?

I write all of this to say, I have no clue what you are dealing with. I don’t know what life is throwing at you, or what things you may be facing at this point in your life.  But, I DO know, that our prayer should be, “Lord, I’m going to praise you no matter what happens in this life. No matter what sorrow I face, or what tragedy I suffer from. No matter what you give me and bless me with, or what you take away, Lord I am going to Praise you through it all, and I will say “blessed be your glorious name!”  

What will you say?

With love,

Mica

 

 

Author:

Colossians 1:17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

Leave a Reply

